> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://zenskar.com/docs/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Users

In Zenskar, a **user** is someone who can access the web application by authenticating their credentials. [Roles must be assigned to a user](/docs/20240301/security/role-based-access-control/roles). Roles grant users permissions to perform tasks. A role is a collection of permissions.

An existing user can be granted the following permissions related to user management:

* **Can Read User**:  grants an existing user the permission to **view** the other users in their organization.
* **Can Write User**: grants an existing user the permission to **create** users in their organization.
* **Can Delete User**: grants an existing user the permission to **delete** users in their organization.

## Adding a new user

> 🚧 Do you have the permission?
>
> Only a user with `Can Write User` permission can add a new user.

1. Click on the named drop-up menu displayed on the bottom of the side panel.
2. Click on the **Users** menu item.

![](https://assets.zenskar.com/20240301/role-based-access-control-users-adding-a-new-user.png)

3. Click the **+ ADD NEW USER** button

![](https://assets.zenskar.com/20240301/role-based-access-control-users-adding-a-new-user-02.png)

4. Add the new user's details in the modal dialog, and click the **SAVE USER** button:

![](https://assets.zenskar.com/20240301/role-based-access-control-users-adding-a-new-user-03.png)

5. The newly added user will be displayed on the page:

![](https://assets.zenskar.com/20240301/role-based-access-control-users-adding-a-new-user-04.png)

## Assigning role and permissions to a user

A user can be assigned only one role. However, a user can be granted more permissions than those associated with the role assigned to them.

![](https://assets.zenskar.com/20240301/role-based-access-control-users-assigning-role-permissions-user.png)

## Editing a user

1. On the **Users** page, click on the user you wish to edit.
2. Update the details and click on **SAVE USER**.

## How to delete a user?

> 🚧 Do you have the permission?
>
> Only a user with `Can Delete User` permission can delete a user.

Each row on the Users page has a **kebab menu**. Clicking on the kebab menu will display the option to delete a user.

![](https://assets.zenskar.com/20240301/role-based-access-control-users-how-delete-user.png)
